How to Disable Auto-sharing of your Airbnb Location

I’m not sure if you’re aware, but recently Airbnb rolled out a new feature. This feature is good for guests, but not so friendly for hosts.

What I’m referring to is 100% refundable cancellations. I’ve been a superhost for 9 months now and never had any issues with cancellations. However, that is not why I am uncomfortable with this new update.

I’m uncomfortable because this takes away my options. On top of this, I had to change my cancelation to moderate or flexible in order to fulfill their “Work Collection” requirements. Here is a screenshot of those requirements.

airbnb location

Why is this important? 

60% of my guests are business travelers. I cannot afford to not be apart of their Work Collection! Again, taking away my choices as a host. It’s such a power play.

How to disable auto-sharing of your Airbnb Location

In order to disable it, you’ll have to find this sneaky box that is hidden deep inside your Listing Details. This little box is hidden 3 layers deep and I’ll walk you through in 3 steps.

Step 1 – Go to your Listing Details

airbnb location

Step 2 – Scroll down to Location and click on Edit

airbnb location

Step 3 – Click on the box for “Visibility for Booked Guests”

airbnb location

Why is this Important?

This setting is on by default and you have to manually disable it. What does that mean for you?

It means that a guest can book your place, cancel penalty-free within 48 hours, and have your address. Not only your address but your last name and your phone number.

What the hell Airbnb?

This is a horrible update for hosts.

In order words, you might get robbed! So, if you don’t want to get robbed, please turn this feature off and follow the steps above.

 

That’s it for today. I hope you’ll get this taken care as soon as possible.

No Comments

Post A Comment